Spurs Gregg Popovich Receives NBA Coach Of The Year Award

NBA.com” has reported that San Antonio Spurs bench boss Gregg Popovich was named  the NBA Coach Of The Year Award. Popovich who has been the Spurs head coach for the last 16 seasons, won the award for the second time; he also received it for the 2002-2003 campaign.

Popovich did a very skilful job during the regular season as he led his squad to a mark of 50-16; tying the Chicago Bulls for the best record in the Association this year. With the same nucleus that he won the NBA Finals with in 2007; which is an eternity in the Association; Popovich took his squad to the top of the NBA Western Conference during the last few weeks of the season.  Even with Manu Ginobili playing just more than half the team’s games and Tim Duncan’s scoring production far below the numbers he put up a few seasons ago; Pop helped his team climb past the Oklahoma City Thunder for the best record in the West.

The Spurs bench boss won the award as he accumulated 467 points; easily topping Bulls coach Tom Thibodeau who finished in second place with 315 points. Rounding out the top five; Indiana Pacers coach Frank Vogel came in third place, Memphis Grizzlies bench boss Lionel Hollins wound up in fourth place while Boston Celtics coach Doc Rivers took fifth place in the voting.

This entry was posted in NBA Awards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply